Blog/Comparisons

Software for private music teachers, compared on the facts

L
Lauren · Co-founder, LessonLoop
4 September 2026 · 7 min read
A teaching day in LessonLoop, ready to mark on a phone

A private music teacher in the UK pays between £0 and about £16 a month for software, and the difference that matters is not the price — it is who holds your parents’ money and what comes out at the end of the tax year. Six products are compared below, every price read from the vendor’s own page on 4 September 2026. Three publish in pounds, three in US dollars. One takes a cut of every payment you receive.

The criteria, before any product is named

At solo scale the bill is small and the friction is everything. These are the seven things this page measures:

  1. The price, and whether it stays still when you take on your twentieth pupil.
  2. Who holds the money. Your own payment account, or theirs — and whether anything is taken on top of the card rate.
  3. Termly and per-pupil fees. Whether you can invoice a term in one go, and whether a parent can pay in instalments.
  4. The register on a phone. Marking standing up between lessons, not retyping it at 10pm.
  5. What comes out for Self Assessment. Income, expenses and mileage against the UK tax year.
  6. UK-shaped by default. GBP, UK term dates, VAT-aware invoicing, UK GDPR and a full export.
  7. Trial terms. Days, and whether a card is required to start.

The price table

ProductList priceWhat the meter countsCurrencyCut of your paymentsTrial
LessonLoop Solo£15/mo (£150 a year)NothingGBPNothing on top of standard Stripe rates30 days, no card
MusicNotes PMI£0 until Jan 2027, then £12/moNothing statedGBPNot statedFree period, no card
My Music Lessons£9.95/moTeachers, plus each hired facilityGBPNot stated on their pricing panel1 month
MyMusicStaff$16.95/moTeachers and staffUSDNot stated30 days, no card
MakeMusic Studio$19.95/moStaff, and every paymentUSD2.9% + 30¢ per card charge, 1.8% ACH, 0.4% of subscription volume14 days
Teachworks$16.49/mo + $0.320 per student lessonStudent lessons taughtUSDNot stated21 days, card at conversion

Two of those columns are the whole decision.

The meter. Teachworks charges per student lesson taught. A teacher doing 100 lessons a month pays $16.49 + $32 = about $48, roughly £38, and a group of four counts as four. Teaching more costs more, every month, forever.

The cut. MakeMusic Studio’s 2.9% + 30¢ per card charge sits on top of the subscription. On £1,200 of fees a month that is roughly £40 on top of the £16 or so of subscription. LessonLoop adds nothing on top of standard Stripe rates — you keep the Stripe relationship and the money lands in your own account.

Where the money goes

This is the question worth answering before any feature list, because it decides whether you are paid or waiting to be paid.

LessonLoop connects your own Stripe account. Card payments and Bacs Direct Debit go into it directly, LessonLoop adds nothing on top of standard Stripe rates, and payouts run on Stripe’s schedule to your bank. Parents set their own Direct Debit mandate up in the portal — a Direct Debit is the payer’s authority and no teacher should be able to create one on a parent’s behalf. Bank debits take up to four working days to confirm, and while a collection is in flight the reminder ladder leaves that family alone.

MakeMusic Studio publishes its processing rates on its own pricing page: 2.9% + 30¢ per card charge, an additional 1% on international cards, 1.8% per ACH bank transfer and 0.4% of subscription volume.

My Music Lessons describes an “automated booking and payment process” with commission splits and teacher payouts. MyMusicStaff, Teachworks and MusicNotes PMI do not state a processing cut on the pages read on 4 September 2026. If you are choosing on this basis, ask each of them directly what they take and how quickly you are paid, and get the answer in writing.

What each one says it does

LessonLoop Solo — £15 a month, unlimited pupils

The diary, registers, lesson notes, automatic invoicing, payment plans and instalments, automatic late fees, and a parent portal on your own domain. Card and Bacs Direct Debit into your own Stripe account with nothing added on top of standard Stripe rates. Registers mark one tap per pupil on a native iPhone app, each tap saving on its own, and the same record feeds the invoice and the make-up credit. Make-up credits are earned, valued from your rate card, capped and expired by your own policy. Expenses and mileage are kept against the UK tax year and reported alongside revenue. LoopAssist drafts the invoice, moves the lesson and writes the chase, and executes nothing until you confirm it; the MCP connector answers questions about your own teaching from ChatGPT and Claude, read-only today. Invoices and payments sync one-way into Xero. £150 a year if paid annually. 30-day trial, no card, and a live demo with no signup. UK-based support replies within one UK working day. There is no SMS channel; WhatsApp is an optional prepaid pack in early access. Music teacher software →

MusicNotes PMI — £0 until January 2027

Their site describes one-click term, half-term or per-lesson invoicing, automatic payment reminders, drag-and-drop rescheduling with automatic parent notification, UK school term dates built in, a Self Assessment income summary for HMRC, unlimited students and data export with no lock-in. £0 until January 2027 with no card, then £12 a month or £120 a year; a founding-member rate of £6 a month is offered to the first ten teachers. Built for independent UK music teachers. (musicnotespmi.co.uk and /pricing, read 4 September 2026.) Full comparison

My Music Lessons — £9.95 a month

Scheduling built for private music teachers and music schools, with an automated booking and payment process, unlimited free student accounts, homework and practice scheduling, packages, subscriptions and memberships, bulk messaging and push alerts, digital signage and self check-in, gift vouchers, commission splits and teacher payouts, and a public profile page with a free directory listing. One month free trial, no fixed contract. Prices in GBP with other currencies selectable. (mymusiclessons.org.uk, read 4 September 2026.) Full comparison

MyMusicStaff — $16.95 a month

$16.95 a month plus $4.95 for each additional teacher or staff member, which does not apply if you teach alone. 30-day free trial with no credit card and a 90-day money-back guarantee. Priced in US dollars. Their own support documentation states the mobile app was retired and directs users to bookmark the mobile website. (mymusicstaff.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026.) Full comparison

MakeMusic Studio (formerly Fons) — $19.95 a month

$19.95 a month, with a summer sale price of $9.95 showing on 4 September 2026, plus $4.95 for each additional staff member. On top: 2.9% + 30¢ per card charge, 1% more on international cards, 1.8% per ACH transfer and 0.4% of subscription volume. 14-day free trial. Priced in US dollars. (studio.makemusic.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026.) Full comparison

Teachworks — from $16.49 a month plus per-lesson

Starter $16.49 a month + $0.320 per student lesson; Growth $47.99 + $0.189; Premium $187.99 + $0.065. 21-day free trial with card details entered to convert. No setup or cancellation fees and no contract. Priced in US dollars. The meter counts student lessons taught, so it scales with how much you teach. (teachworks.com/pricing, read 4 September 2026.) Full comparison

What to check before you commit

  • Take a register on your phone during the trial, standing up, in the room you actually teach in. It is the thing you will do a thousand times a year.
  • Send yourself an invoice and pay it. Watch where the money goes and how long it takes to arrive.
  • Export your data on day one of the trial, not on the day you leave. If the export is awkward now, it will be worse later.
  • Price it at the size you will be in two years, not the size you are today. A per-lesson or per-teacher meter is invisible until it isn’t.
  • Work out what your admin is costing you now. Our admin cost calculator does it from your own hours and rate, free and with no email gate, and our hourly rate calculator works backwards from the income you actually want.

Reading that goes with this

Sources, and how to correct this page

Every price was read from the vendor’s own live pricing page on 4 September 2026: mymusicstaff.com/pricing, teachworks.com/pricing, studio.makemusic.com/pricing, mymusiclessons.org.uk, musicnotespmi.co.uk and /pricing, lessonloop.net/pricing. Nothing here comes from a directory or a third-party summary, and no vendor paid to appear.

Prices move. If a figure here is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will correct it and re-date the page.

Questions

Answered.

What is the cheapest software for a private music teacher in the UK?
MusicNotes PMI at £0 until January 2027, then £12 a month. After that the cheapest published GBP prices are My Music Lessons at £9.95 a month and LessonLoop Solo at £15 a month, or £150 a year — £12.50 a month. The three US-priced products start at $16.49 to $19.95, which is a moving number for a UK card. All read from the vendors' own pricing pages on 4 September 2026.
Which one lets parents pay me directly rather than through the platform?
LessonLoop routes card and Bacs Direct Debit payments into your own Stripe account, and adds nothing on top of standard Stripe rates — the money is yours from the moment it clears, and the Stripe relationship is yours. MakeMusic Studio charges 2.9% + 30¢ on every card charge on top of its subscription, 1.8% on ACH and 0.4% of subscription volume. Check who holds the money and for how long before you commit: it is the difference between being paid and waiting to be paid.
Which of them helps with Self Assessment?
LessonLoop keeps expenses and mileage against the UK tax year and reports on them alongside revenue, so the figures come out as a report rather than a shoebox. MusicNotes PMI publishes a Self Assessment income summary export. Neither files anything for you and neither is a substitute for an accountant. Our guide to Self Assessment for music teachers covers what is deductible and when the deadlines fall.
Do any of them have a mobile app for taking the register?
LessonLoop has a native iPhone app on the App Store today, and the register marks one tap per pupil with each tap saving on its own. MyMusicStaff's own support documentation says its mobile app was retired and directs users to bookmark the mobile website. The others are browser-first. If you mark registers standing up between lessons, this matters more than any feature list.
Is £15 a month worth it when a spreadsheet is free?
The spreadsheet does not send the invoice, take the payment or write the chasing message. LessonLoop Solo is £15 a month for unlimited pupils and includes the diary, registers, lesson notes, automatic invoicing, payment plans, automatic late fees, the parent portal on your own domain, expenses and mileage, LoopAssist and the iPhone app. The trial is 30 days with no card, and there is a live demo with no signup at all. Work out what your own admin hours cost with the free admin cost calculator before you decide.
Why are Opus1, Jackrabbit and Pembee not on this page?
Because they are priced for schools, not for one teacher. Opus1 starts at $98 a month, Jackrabbit at $49 tiered on your whole roll, and Pembee at £30 plus 0.59% of every payment. All three are covered on the music school roundup, where that scale is the point.

Run your studio the calm way.

Scheduling, billing and a parent portal — with an assistant that does the admin. 30-day free trial, no card.